Scrooged! Geppi's Entertainment Museum presents a tribute to Disney artist Carl Barks Original oil paintings, artwork and related memorabilia focus on the creator of classic comic character Uncle Scrooge McDuck. Exhibition runs through May 31, 2008.
News-Antique.com - Feb 21,2008 - BALTIMORE – It was the pen of genius artist Carl Barks (1901-2000) that created Duckburg, home to some of the Walt Disney Company’s most beloved and immortal cartoon characters, including Donald Duck’s miserly, top-hatted Uncle Scrooge McDuck, his identical nephews Huey, Dewey and Louie, ever-ingenious Gyro Gearloose and the rascally Beagle Boys. Through May 31, 2008, Geppi’s Entertainment Museum at Camden Yards will celebrate the legacy of the “Good Duck Artist” – a respectful reference to Barks’ superior artistic skills – with a unique exhibition of original oil paintings, artwork and related memorabilia.
The exhibition contains many rarely seen pieces, including:
• The museum display’s centerpiece, all 24 pages of Barks’ original art to North of the Yukon (Uncle Scrooge 59, 1965). It’s the only feature-length Barks epic for which the master’s originals survive in one place, thus providing a chance for one and all to see Barks’ line work and methods up close.
• 1980s and ’90s Barks oil paintings, watercolors and pencil sketches based on classic comics adventures – including Donald Duck Finds Pirate Gold, Ghost of the Grotto, Lost in the Andes, In Ancient Persia, Back to the Klondike, The Fabulous Philosopher’s Stone, The Golden Fleecing, and Go Slowly, Sands of Time.
• Additional Barks paintings and art celebrating Donald’s 50th and 60th anniversaries, and Sailing the Spanish Main, Barks’ first oil commissioned for a lithograph, inspired by his legendary 1949 cover to Walt Disney’s Comics and Stories 108.
• The Scrooge McDuck Midnight Egg, a unique Barks/Fabergé team-up
• Barks’ renowned non-Disney watercolors and oils, including several from the Kings and Queens of Myth and Legend and Famous Figures of History as They Might Have Looked Had Their Genes Gotten Mixed With Waterfowl series.
The museum’s winter hours, through March 31, are 10-5 Tuesdays through Sundays (closed Mondays). Spring/summer hours from April through September are 10-5 every day. To learn more about GEM, log on to www.geppismuseum.com. Tel. 410-625-7060 or e-mail email@example.com. The museum is located at 301 W. Camden Street, Baltimore, MD 21201.